Friday, October 5, 2018

€780,000 has been allocated to County Roscommon

 €780,000 allocated to Roscommon under the Town and Village Renewal Scheme

€780,000 has been allocated to County Roscommon under the Government’s Town and Village Renewal Scheme, Fine Gael Senator Frank Feighan has said.

“My colleague, the Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring, has confirmed to me today that Roscommon will benefit from €780,000 in funding under  the Town and Village Renewal Scheme. The beneficiaries are as follows:
 • Athleague Development of a local economic and community action plan €100,000
• Ballaghaderreen Town enhancement project €100,000
• Boyle Town Centre Development Project €200,000
• Monksland Development of a skate park €100,000
• Rooskey Improvement of the village townscape  €100,000
• Roscommon Improvement of facilities at Roscommon Castle €100,000
• Strokestown Enhance building frontage & purchase chalet type stalls and marquee €80,000
“Fine Gael in Government is using the benefits of the economic recovery to support the growth and development of rural Ireland, and the Town and Village Renewal Scheme is a key part of the Government’s Action Plan for Rural Development. The Scheme focuses on projects which can help to enhance rural towns and villages with populations of less than 5,000 people, with a particular emphasis on stimulating economic development.
“Almost €53 million has been approved for more than 670 projects across the country under the Town and Village Renewal Scheme since it was introduced in the second half of 2016.
 “The Government’s commitment to supporting rural Ireland is further underscored through the new €1 billion Rural Regeneration and Development Fund which was launched this year as part of project Ireland 2040. This new Fund will provide an opportunity to deliver more integrated and ambitious projects which will further support the revitalisation of our rural towns and villages in the coming years.
 “Today’s announcement gives a real boost to communities in towns and villages across Roscommon.”

Contact: Senator Feighan, (086) 8331234.

No comments:

Post a Comment